Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein Review

Before going into a deep dive review of the Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein, click this link to find out everything about casein protein (key benefit: slow digesting protein for greater muscle retention).

To be frank, you do not need any muscle building supplements to build muscles.

Supplements are just that, they are supposed to supplement, not replace.

Not replacing calories, good calories, proper training and proper rest.

However, if you have read the link I provided above, then you will know the importance of casein in helping us maintain our hard earned muscle mass.

And I believe the best casein protein in the market today is the Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein.

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein

>> Click here to find out more

 

My Review

The Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein is a really good product, and a testament to that is the product being awarded the Casein supplement of the year by Bodybuilding.com, the #1 bodybuilding site in 2013 and 2015.

I give this a rating of

  • Value: 9.5/10
  • Taste: 10/10
  • Mixability: 9.5/10
  • Overall: 9.5/10

 

1. Value: 9.5/10

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein nutritional information

Looking at the composition, Optimum’s product is made up of 24g of protein and 9+g of essential amino acids in a 33g serving. This is a very good ratio in the market and will help you achieve your protein needs. Go any higher and taste will suffer.

However, one criticism of the product is its higher sodium levels as compared to its peers. Fair enough, but it only takes up 10% of your recommended daily intake of sodium based on a 2,000 calorie diet. As long as you watch your sodium intake from your daily diet (e.g. reduce salt usage, avoid canned foods, eat fresh fruits, meats and vegetables) which you should be doing anyway, that is more than good enough.

As for effectiveness, the Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein does do its work, as I do not feel hungry at all when I wake up (used it before I sleep) and fills me up in other situations. This is because the slowly digesting micellar casin allows BCAAs to be delivered for up to 8 hours, essential amino acids up to 7 hours and leucine up to over 6.5 hours! Thus, catabolic (muscle destroying) states are avoided with my muscles retained.

It becomes especially useful and convenient when I know I do not have access to real food for a long period of time. Just one scoop, mix it and that’s enough.

The Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein costs $53.94 for 53 servings (4lbs package). You can get the 2lbs package ($32.88 for 27 servings) as well though that would be more costly per serving.

 

2. Taste: 10/10

Taste wise, it is delicious and I actually look forward to drinking it.

There is a huge variety to choose from (15 flavours to choose from), with flavours such as mint chocolate chip, chocolate supreme, french vanilla and many more! Cookies and cream is my personal favourite.

 

3. Mixability: 9.5/10

I find that it mixes very well (e.g. with water or milk), at least better than other comparable products which I have used in the past. However, if you were to compare it with whey protein, it will be a thicker concoction.

 

4. Overall: 9.5/10

Having tried a few casein products, I find the Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein a really impressive product.

It represents great value for the results it provides, mixes effortlessly and tastes great, though a very small drawback is be watchful with your daily sodium intake.

I recommend using it along with the Optimum Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein.

Use the Optimum Whey Protein after waking up and after workouts. Use the Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein before sleep and during long periods where you go without food.

 

Proven Product

1. The Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Casein Protein is the best selling casein protein product on the Bodybuilding.com store, the world’s largest online store for bodybuilding supplements.

2. This product has won the Casein Protein of the Year Award for 2013 and 2015 on the Bodybuilding.com store.

3. It has achieved a rating of 8.7/10 from over 2,500 user reviews, one of the highest as compared to other products.

 

Other User Reviews

Now, enough about what I have to say, do check out what over 2,500 other users have to say and get the Optimum Nutrition 100% Gold Standard Casein Protein today!

 

Feel free to contact me as well if you need any help, good luck!

waynegriffins

Sincerely,
Wayne

Recommended

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shares